His longest minute

I’ve written this from the writing prompt over at Nostrovia Poetry: ‘Write a scene where the subject experiences the longest minute of their life.’ I haven’t written from a writing prompt before – I’m not sure that this entirely works but it was fun to give it a go. And it was a great way to get my ‘writing head’ on today…

Is this it?

A car sits in the road ahead,
Where it’s impossible for two vehicles to pass.
Dark grey paintwork,
Tinted windows,
Expensive looking.
Even up close,
He can’t see through the glass.

Is this it?
Is she in there?

For the longest moment,
The stillness,
Is like a word on the tip of his tongue,
And uncertainty is hung,
On tightly strung wire,
In the space,
Between fear and desire.
He holds his breath,
Shivering as he exhales,
Trying to remain calm,
Though anxiety is king here,
And it’s anxiety that prevails.

God damn,
Why aren’t they doing something?

A door opens,
A booted foot reaches out,
And feels for the tarmac.

Is this it?
Is this it?
Is she here?

28 thoughts on “His longest minute

  1. Pingback: For you; the second writing prompt and blog promotion | Nostrovia! Poetry

  2. Carrie Rubin

    “And uncertainty is hung,
    On tightly strung wire,
    In the space,
    Between fear and desire.”—-Love that passage! I like how the words trickle through my brain.

    Thanks for stopping by my site. I appreciate it!

    Reply
    1. beautifulorange Post author

      Then I’ve at least partly succeeded! Thanks Charles. I’m actually now thinking about building parts of this in to a scene in my novel. Amazing how helpful a writing prompt can be.

      Reply
    1. beautifulorange Post author

      Thanks. At the moment, I know that I want to incorporate the mood and some of the language – I’m not sure that I can drop the entire thing in. We’ll see…

      Reply
  3. Val Mills

    There’s quite a story ready to be told here. Love the uncertainty – it’s almost like a new prompt, what happens next? I’ll be back to read more of your work.

    Reply
  4. lyriquediscorde

    This really works….and had me wanting more…and left me with many questions and wonderings. Nicely done.

    I especially love this part:
    For the longest moment,
    The stillness,
    Is like a word on the tip of his tongue,
    And uncertainty is hung,
    On tightly strung wire,
    In the space,
    Between fear and desire

    ~ Laura

    Reply

Leave a Reply

